Posted in review

Review: Empire of Sand (The Books of Ambha #1) by Tasha Suri

Summary from Goodreads:

A nobleman’s daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods. Empire of Sand is Tasha Suri’s captivating, Mughal India-inspired debut fantasy.

The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of an imperial governor and an exiled Amrithi mother she can barely remember, but whose face and magic she has inherited.

When Mehr’s power comes to the attention of the Emperor’s most feared mystics, she must use every ounce of will, subtlety, and power she possesses to resist their cruel agenda.

Should she fail, the gods themselves may awaken seeking vengeance…

Empire of Sand is a lush, dazzling fantasy novel perfect for readers of City of Brass and The Wrath & the Dawn.

Review:

I’ve had Empire of Sand on my kindle since 2018, back when I first read City of Brass and wanted a similar themed novel. I’m glad that I finally decided to pick it up. I enjoyed how the novel focuses on the romance aspect but it does not get in the way of the well-done plot.

I liked the point of view of Mehr, who is dealing with her heritage and magic throughout the first novel. She was well-written main character that the reader grows connected with as the story goes on.

Tasha Suri did a great job with the world building and the magic system. I want to read more in this world and find out more about the Amrithi. I also enjoyed the romance between our two main characters, it is a slow burn romance and it does not overshadow the rest of the novel.

I recommend checking out this well-done adult Fantasy novel. I cannot wait to read the second book in the series.

Rating:

4 Stars out of 5 Stars.

Author:

I'm person who loves reviewing, reading, talking about, and just being around books!