Posted in review

ARC Review: Dear Edward by Ann Napolitano

Summary from Goodreads:

Inspired by a true story of one child’s incredible survival–riveting, uplifting, unforgettable.

After losing everything, a young boy discovers there are still reasons for hope in this luminous, life-affirming novel, perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Ann Patchett.

In the face of tragedy, what does it take to find joy?

One summer morning, twelve-year-old Edward Adler, his beloved older brother, his parents, and 183 other passengers board a flight in Newark headed for Los Angeles. Among them is a Wall Street wunderkind, a young woman coming to terms with an unexpected pregnancy, an injured vet returning from Afghanistan, a septuagenarian business tycoon, and a free-spirited woman running away from her controlling husband. And then, tragically, the plane crashes. Edward is the sole survivor.

Edward’s story captures the attention of the nation, but he struggles to find a place for himself in a world without his family. He continues to feel that a piece of him has been left in the sky, forever tied to the plane and all of his fellow passengers. But then he makes an unexpected discovery–one that will lead him to the answers of some of life’s most profound questions: When you’ve lost everything, how do find yourself? How do you discover your purpose? What does it mean not just to survive, but to truly live?

Dear Edward is at once a transcendent coming-of-age story, a multidimensional portrait of an unforgettable cast of characters, and a breathtaking illustration of all the ways a broken heart learns to love again.

Review:

I received this book for an honest review from the publisher/NetGalley.

Years ago I would never see myself, the YA only reader, reading a novel like Dear Edward and loving it. In 2019, I feel like I’ve grown as a reader and I’m able to savor novels that deal with important topics and that are beautifully written. That was Dear Edward for me. It was an emotional read that captured my heart.

Thanks to Instagram I decided to pick up my earc of this popular Literary Fiction novel. I was hooked by this lyrically written novel with the first chapter. My favorite aspect of the novel was the interesting formatting, how the author went between the past, the plane before the crash, and the future of Edward living after the wreck.

I was worried that I would get confused by the number of characters in the novel but it did not bother me at all.

I will be checking out more from Ann Napolitano because I need more of her writing in my life.

Rating:

5 Stars Out of 5 Stars

Author:

I'm person who loves reviewing, reading, talking about, and just being around books!